ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Randonnée pédestre

Route des Diligences / ViaCook

Vernayaz

Historic road between Vernayaz and Chamonix
This hike can easily be done from Vernayaz (up) or Finhaut (down). The Mont-Blanc-Express train connects the arrival and departure points. The itinerary offers a multitude of discoveries (spectacular gorges, alpine zoo, listed village, etc.) in the footsteps of the travellers of the Belle Epoque. 
 

WALKING ITINERARIES

  • Vernayaz - Finhaut: approx. 5h
  • Finhaut - Vernayaz : approx. 4h

Horse-drawn carriages from the Rhone valley to the Haute-Savoie
In the middle of the 19th century, the Trient Valley was only accessible by narrow mule tracks. To attract foreign visitors on their Grand Tour between Valais and Chamonix, local
authorities decided to upgrade the path into a road suitable for vehicles. The section between Vernayaz and Salvan was built between 1855 and 1867. In later years, several
improvements were carried out, and the number of tight corners was reduced from around 50 to 35, making the route even more accessible.
 
Sixty hotels in the valley
With the construction of the Route des Diligences, the villages along its path experienced an economic boom. Hotels were built one after the other in Vernayaz, Salvan, Les Marécottes, Le Trétien, Finhaut, and Giétroz, with village inhabitants becoming hoteliers, porters, coach drivers, laundry workers, guides, and grocers. The level of comfort previously only  encountered in cities gradually reached the mountains, and members of the European aristocracy began to spend their summers in luxurious alpine hotels.
 
A cultural and tourist route
Ensuring a much faster journey between Martigny and Chamonix, the new railway line inaugurated in 1908 soon replaced the coaches and further contributed to the region’s development. However, the First World War brought a sudden halt to this boom. Today, the Route des Diligences is listed on the Federal Inventory of Switzerland’s Historic Traffic Routes and is part of the ViaCook, which retraces the path taken by tourism pioneer Thomas Cook in 1863.
Brochure

Technical information

  • Distance 12.41 km
  • Positive elevation 1'080 m
  • Negative elevation 1'080 m
  • Highest point 1'450 m
  • Duration 5h00min
GPX

Contact

Vallée du Trient Tourisme

info@valleedutrient.ch

Le Gilliod 27
1929 Trient


Social media


Location / Access

GPS coordinates :
46.13391726304798, 7.035118235216943

ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Randonnée pédestre

Route des Diligences / ViaCook

Vernayaz

Historische Route zwischen Vernayaz und Chamonix
Diese Wanderung kann leicht von Vernayaz (auf dem Weg nach oben) oder von Finhaut (auf dem Weg nach unten) gemacht werden. Der Mont-Blanc-Express-Zug verbindet den Ankunfts- und den Abfahrtsort. Die Route bietet eine Vielzahl von Entdeckungen (spektakuläre Schluchten, Alpenzoo, denkmalgeschütztes Dorf, etc.) auf den Spuren der Reisenden der Belle Epoque. 
 

WANDERUNGEN

  • Vernayaz - Finhaut : ca. 5h
  • Finhaut - Vernayaz : ca. 4h


Pferdekutschen zwischen dem Tal und Hochsavoyen
In der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts ist das Trienttal nur über gefährliche Saumpfade erreichbar. Um ausländische Reisende auf der Grand Tour zwischen dem Wallis und Chamonix anzulocken, beschliessen die Behörden, den Weg in eine befahrbare Strasse umzuwandeln. Der Abschnitt zwischen Vernayaz und Salvan wird zwischen 1855 und
1867 gebaut. Später werden verschiedene Ausbesserungen vorgenommen und die Zahl der Kehren wird von rund 50 auf 35 verringert, wodurch die Strecke leichter zugänglich
wird.
 
Rund sechzig Hotels im Tal
Mit dem Bau der Postkutschenstrasse erleben die Dörfer entlang der Strecke einen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung. In Vernayaz, Salvan, Les Marécottes, Le Trétien, Finhaut und Giétroz schiessen Hotels geradezu aus dem Boden. Die Einwohner werden zu Hoteliers, Portiers, Kutschern, Wäschern, Reiseführern und Lebensmittelhändlern. Der Komfort der Städte erobert nach und nach die Berge, und die hoch gelegenen Nobelherbergen werden zum Treffpunkt des gesamten europäischen Adels, der dort den Sommer verbringt.
 
Eine kulturelle und touristische Strecke
1908 wird die Eisenbahnlinie zwischen Martigny und Chamonix in Betrieb genommen. Da sie ein rascheres Vorankommen ermöglicht, löst sie schon bald die Postkutschen ab und beschleunigt die Entwicklung der Region. Der Erste Weltkrieg setzt diesem Aufschwung aber ein abruptes Ende. Heute ist die «Route des Diligences» im Inventar der historischen Verkehrswege der Schweiz erfasst und Teil der ViaCook, die den Weg des Tourismuspioniers Thomas Cook im Jahr 1863 nachzeichnet.
Broschure

Technische Informationen

  • Strecke 12.41 km
  • Aufstieg 1'080 m
  • Abstieg 1'080 m
  • Höchster punkt 1'450 m
  • Dauer 5h00min
GPX

Kontakt

Vallée du Trient Tourisme

info@valleedutrient.ch

Le Gilliod 27
1929 Trient


Soziale Netzwerke


Standort / Zugang

GPS-Koordinaten :
46.13391726304798, 7.035118235216943